Books

The Accidental Pilgrim

A review of the book by Maggi Dawn

Maggi Dawn’s book, The Accidental Pilgrim. It’s the first of Maggi’s I’ve read, so I can’t compare it with her (only?) other one, The Writing On The Wall (added to my Christmas list). I’m often quite a slow reader but once I started The Accidental Pilgrim I went through it quite quickly, having bought it at the Greenbelt festival on a promotional offer, without which I probably wouldn’t have picked it up and flicked through it.

I found the Accidental Pilgrim to be written in a warm and friendly way that engages the reader whilst giving pause for thought and reflection.

The first section, Accidental Pilgrim, drew me in most, maybe because it’s the section I could most see myself in, if I were to get the opportunity to travel to the Holy Land. I didn’t find quite the same empathy with Pushchair Pilgrim, or Armchair Pilgrim I think because I don’t have children and have always been blessed with good health.

I did nevertheless find both Pushchair Pilgrim & Armchair Pilgrim engaging to read holding my attention. I regret to say, however, that before reading Pushchair Pilgrim, I might have been one of those who would have said “You can’t go on a pilgrimage with a baby”. I was wrong.

Armchair Pilgrim has some wonderful little nuggets in it, but a couple of lines in particular I have remembered although I’m only going to quote the first one:

“First, being a pilgrim isn’t necessarily about being active.”
The other follows on directly but if you want to know what it says, you’ll have to read the book.

Leave a Reply

