Books

A Room With A View

A review of the book

rwavA Room With A View was penned and published over 100 years ago, in 1908. As a piece of literature it has been studied, analysed, dissected, commented upon and summarised, hundreds of times, I think.

Any number of those essays probably give more depth and insight than I can. For that reason, I offer no summary, other than to say it is about a formative time in the life of a young lady of the Edwardian era, Miss Lucy Honeychurch, and, I will confine myself to my opinions of it as a story.

It seems to be a tale that could be placed in a number of different settings, and times too, without loosing the basic narrative.I suspect it has been the basis for other stories and films, in addition to it’s own filming in 1985, with a fine cast of distinguished actors.

Readers of crime and thriller stories would not appreciate it, though there are a number of intrigues in it’s pages that are not immediately obvious.

I found it to be an easy going, pleasant read but not one that absorbed my full attention. This might have been to do with a century old style of writing, which did have me scratching my head a little at times, to understand some of the descriptions and allusions.

Perhaps If I were to read it again, now that I have a better understanding of the way Forster wrote it and its context, I might amend my opinion. I have no plans to read it again but if I do, I’ll update this post. Watch this space …

Leave a Reply

